Parental Stereotyping

Recently, I got this in the mail, directed to my name:

supermom
So, I’m a Supermom?

FYI, this is a tie-up between Tesco and P&G, where Tesco Clubcard members get to get some special offers on P&G products when they flash the Supermom card.

I have a few hypotheses regarding why I would receive such an offer:

  1. I suspect Tesco has a pretty good CLM (Customer Lifecycle Management) system, as I’ve been receiving cash vouchers on products that I have bought quite frequently. Maybe I’ve received this because I’ve been buying a lot of baby/household stuff recently? But they could have checked my gender and choose their recipients, right?
  2. It was a mass, random offer to ALL Tesco Clubcard members. But that wouldn’t make too much sense, right?

If it’s really Point 1, then it’s really funny to be assumed as a mother because of my purchases.

Which brings me to my own point today: Gender/Parental stereotypes.

As mentioned in my previous post, I consider myself a pretty involved father, and I thoroughly enjoy the process. I also know that are certain quarters out there who still believe in the traditional view where the bulk of the parenting is done by the female of the species.

Yes, it was definitely like that during my parents’ era. I remember my father as person who literally doesn’t do much house chores at home, eg. Washing the dishes, mopping the floor etc. Cooking was unthinkable!

The way I see it, there really is nothing in parenthood that my wife can do, that I cannot do, except breastfeeding. Even then, if we decided to go with the bottle, there wouldn’t be any differences technically. I do not say this to belittle the efforts of mothers everywhere, but to emphasize the point that fathers can do so much more.

Diaper changing? Check. Bathing the baby single handedly? Check. Washing and drying baby’s clothes? Check. Cleaning and sterilising baby’s bottles? Check. And some other stuff that I can’t think off my head right now.

And what an experience it has been to be involved in such a way. I feel a renewed sense of excitement, being able to be directly involved in my son’s life this way.

So, to young parents out there just like me: Are the parenting duties well split between both of you? Or does your family subscribe to the traditional view like my parents?

Leave a Reply

